Zero tolerance of abusive language towards others
200MB samples free!
Competitions Forum
Feedback Forum
Hey guys,
I need your advice on this one,
Ever heard of AudioMicro.com? Well, neither did I.
They sent me an email, here it is:
"I am writing to you in regards to representing your work as part of a growing music and sound effects library, AudioMicro.com - http://www.audiomicro.com
AudioMicro is a stock audio community. We are a user-generated, “micro stock” music and sound effects archive. We would like to invite you to be a part of our licensing community by contributing your work.
The platform launched just one year ago and the library is now up to over 145,000 tracks. Traffic and revenues have been growing month over month since inception.
We pay a royalty rate of 50% of all sales (synch licenses) back to our artists on a monthly basis via PayPal. We drive traffic to the site by optimizing thousands of keywords on Google. To get started licensing your work through our platform, you can register for the site.
By joining AudioMicro, you’ll become a part of a very talented group of artists and composers, including Ron Jones, who composes all of the music for FOX’s “Family Guy” and “American Dad;” Ric Viers, whose sound effects have previously been integrated into Sony and Apple software, including Garage Band, Final Cut Pro, and Logic Studio; and the entire AE Music Publishing Archive, with over 1,000 full compositions from 8 decorated composers, including multiple Grammy nominated composer, David Arkenstone."
That's the email.
What is this?! Should I contact them? Should I avoid them?
I need your advice, maybe you recieved an email like this one. What should I do?
Thanks in advance.


Donate $10 or more to MakeTunes and get listed below!
Donations made to MakeTunes by the following members...
Check out their music to thank them for helping our community grow!
Spinelli - Ed - Audiohead - Julian Angel - Giechi Dan Productions - Mike_S - Bill - JonnyLightning - Illusive Mind - DanstheTsar - IngridTornado - Geomatic - Almighty Pattern - m1ch431 - dammedifiknow - TURK - DeletedTrack - heegs - MarCoast Beats. - pinepoint - disposition - doomydoom - NyceBeatz - Multiengine - deanomuz - Hosea Taylor - Light3000 - Mike Huntingford - Joon Yang
To help MakeTunes continue to grow, please consider donating. Thanks
never heard of them but it mite be worth contacting them with more details and so you can get a safer mindset of them and stuff =]
well done though :)
-when God created the world, he was listening to drum and bass-
www.myspace.com/toolboxChill
Yeah check it out bro. What could it hurt? Just be sure to read the fine print when you fill out the registration form. Ensure that you have all the rights, except for sales on that site alone. Be careful
What surprised me is that they sent this email out of nowhere; I didn't send my tracks to them, I didn't even know they existed...
I'm gonna contact them first before I sign up for anything.
_________________
www.DJCaesar.Tk
I looked at them from a business perspective. They are based out of Sherman Oaks, California, and have been in business since 2007. They have some big clients already. Here's more info on them:
http://www.crunchbase.com/company/audiomicro
http://www.docstoc.com/docs/5320659/AudioMicro-to-represent-%E2%80%9CFam...
http://mixonline.com/news/audiomicro_hollywoodedge_onlinelibrary_2807/
And they have a US 1-800 number. Here it is: 800-804-2171
My opinion is they are a legit upstart business in the budding and booming market of homebrew indie music. Hoping to capitalize on it by using it in another medium, TV and Movies. All that music you here in the background of TV, Movies and Commercials is what this site is trying to expose artists to. From the independent site stats, it looks like its moving forward and is in a growth state right now.
Here's the skinny. They take 50% of the sales of your music. The agreements with the buyers of your music are non-exclusive, meaning you can sell them over and over again. Its all about royalty free stock music for media production. That means you retain copyrights, and can use it in your own releases, but that you can't collect publishing royalties from anyone who purchases it from AudioMicro. So if it becomes a radio hit, but the radio bought it for the low on AudioMicro, you get nothing each time it plays! Kind of a trade off, but if your not making money on it anyway, why not use the service. I'm signing up. Fuck it.
That being said. Don't feel special that they e-mailed you. There's a sign-up button on the front page for everyone. It was a net cast to find new artists for the page. But its a legit site and I thank you for putting me onto the site. I'm gonna take advantage of it. Oh, and best part. Its an FTP upload. So you use an FTP client and not your web browser to upload, so you can cue up like 250 tracks and be done with it. Oh and this is also on there site "If you have more than 500 tracks to submit to our library and you are comfortable entering into a 3 year "no takedown" agreement with AudioMicro, we'd be happy to upload and categorize your entire archive for you, while you sit back and collect 50% of the sales." The no takedown agreement means they stay on the site for 3 years and you can't take them off. But you're still retaining all rights! So fuck it! I don't have 500 tracks... I have about 300 or so, but I like having total control. If I want it down, its coming down. I'll organize my shit myself, thank you!
Take two of these beats, and call me in the morning. Doctor's orders!
Just read their upload agreement.... pretty straight forward publishing contract. Nothing real hinky it. They work with both BMI and ASCAP, so if your not licensed with either of them, they will license you under their account. That's a good thing. That way you get paid. You would still be listed as the writer/composer 100%. It just for publishing rights, so you can get paid.
Take two of these beats, and call me in the morning. Doctor's orders!
Nice one DJC - thanks for posting on it, I never heard of them. Good luck! thnx doc for extra info too Love, Ingrid